Fine Craft Shows Charleston announces Piccolo Spoleto Craft Shows’ Merit Awards for 2013

  • Sunday, July 21, 2013

Fine Crafts Shows Charleston announces the merit awards given out at the Piccolo Spoleto Craft Shows this year. The two weekend events were held May 24-26 and May 31- June 2.

Approximately 80 craft artists from around the country displayed their works for sale each weekend of The Piccolo Spoleto Craft shows, held in Wragg Square Park each year as part of the Piccolo Spoleto Festivals, the official outreach festival of Spoleto Festival U.S.A. Each weekend show presents a different line-up of artists.

May 24-26 Show (finecraftshowscharleston.com/2013_results1.html)

The judge for the May 24 – 26 show was John Hull, professor of Painting and department dhair at the College of Charleston. Hull is a painter who has exhibited his work nationally since 1981. On Friday, May 24 he attended the show and designated the award winners. The winners received their ribbons and congratulation from Charleston Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr.

First Place: Mimi Hay, a clothing designer from Myrtle Beach.

Second place: Roberta Marasca, a jeweler from Pittsboro, N.C.

Third place: Barbara and Rick Umbel, jewelers from Melbourne Beach, Fla.

Honorable Mention: Alan Daigre, a furniture maker from Readyville Tenn. Jean Yao, a basketmaker from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., and Leslie Peebles, a printmaker from Alachua Fla.

Mayor’s Purchase Award (best in show) went to Tara Winslow, a potter from Stow, Ohio.

Exhibitor’s Choice Award went to Katrin Wolf, a jeweler from Monticello, Fla.

May 31-June 2 Show (finecraftshowscharleston.com/2013_results2.html)

The judge for the May 31 – June 2 show was Jean MK Miller, associate dean of administrative affairs and professor, College of Visual Arts and Design at the University of North Texas on Friday, May 31, Professor Miller attended the show and gave out the following awards:

First place: Jerry Maxey, a basketmaker from Piedmont

Second place: Alan Daigre, a furniture maker from Readyville, Tenn.

Third place: Obayana Ajanaku, a jeweler from Decatur, Ga.

Honorable Mention: Jean Yao, a basketmaker from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., Catherine Gooslby, a jeweler from Decatur, Ga., and Marlow and Diana Gates, broommakers from Leicester, N.C.

Slide Juror’s Award: Amy Goldstein-Rice, a potter from Inman

Special Juror Merit Award: Vicki Vigneault, a stained glass artist from Inman

Exhibitor Choice Award: Susan Marling, a fabric designer from Acworth, Ga.

Photos of all winners are available on the website finecraftshowscharleston.com, then follow the link to results for each weekend.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.