Mount Pleasant Track Club sends 36 athletes to USATF Nationals

  • Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Liam Christensen, competing in the 15-16 age division for javelin, had a strong showing at the USATF Junior Olympics SC State Championships. He also just received the Mount Pleasant Track Club Peyton Moore Memorial “Athlete of the Year” award. He was an All-American in the javelin last year. COURTESY OF BRIAN FANCHER

The Mount Pleasant Track Club continues to cement itself among the premier track and field clubs in the country. Thirty-six members, competing in 47 different events, qualified for the United States of America Track and Field (USATF) Nationals in Greensboro, N.C. this week.

Nineteen of those youth athletes are ranked in the top 12 of their respective events in the country.

Those 36 qualifiers reached their national meet aspirations after a strong showing at the Region 4 track meet in Orlando, Fla. over the July 4th weekend. The region covers South Carolina, Georgia and Florida.

Reid Haigler won the 3,000-meter race, Terrell Venning championed the discus event and Worth Burnette was the pole vault winner.

The club held its final preparatory practice Monday at the Park West track. ““This was our best showing ever at Regionals,” coach Tami Dennis said.

“We were put in a new region with Florida and Georgia and knew the competition would be stiff, but the kids responded with huge PRs (personal records).”

The complete list of athletes competing in the national meet are listed at the conclusion of the article, categorized by age groups. Nationals began Monday and conclude the following Sunday.

“In the past we were excited about going to nationals,” Dennis said, “now, we’re hungry to compete and reach for that All-American position (Top 8 finish at nationals).”

8 and under: Caleb Boykins (800, 1500), Troy Cocco (shot put, javelin), Ginger Arnold (shot put, javelin)

9-10: Caleb Walker (javelin), Georgia Arnold (javelin), Zaire Coker (long jump), Morgan Arent (high jump, long jump), Sophie Heinhold (high jump, long jump)

11-12: Jayla Grant (shot put, Discus), Wells Burnette (high jump), Ryan Loud (high jump), Chloe Berda (javelin), Dylan Buchelle (javelin), Christopher Corgill (javelin), Paul Kowalchick (discus), David Kowalchick (discus), Ben McElveen (3000m)

13-14: Worth Burnette (pole vault), James Corgill (pole vault), Colton Green (pole vault), Taylor Arent (pole vault), Raena Burns (pole vault, javelin), Austin Marshall (long jump), Jacob Wilkins (discus)

15-16: Kristin Fairey (1500m, 2000m steeplechase), Reid Haigler (3000m, 2000m steeplechase), Keegan Green (3000m, 2000m steeplechase), Scott Stroman (800m), Mads Nelson (3000m), Kendall Mercer (high jump, pole vault), Liam Christensen (javelin), Terrell Venning (discus)

17-18: Sarah Lee (pole vault), Hampton Harvin (high jump), Angelica Collins (long jump), Caitlin Corgill (high jump).

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.