BE, Wando athletic directors pleased with 2014-16 realignment

  • Tuesday, August 6, 2013


There will be minor changes to Bishop England’s and Wando’s regions next season when the South Carolina High School League’s latest realignment for 2014-16 goes into effect.

The realignment proposal was shown to athletic directors in May, according to a report on SCNow.com, but the final version was sent out Friday. Bishop England athletic director Paul Runey said schools can still appeal, but he doesn’t expect any shuffling “because Woodland and Ridgeland, to my understanding, are not going to appeal,” he said.

Both Woodland and Ridgeland will depart 2A Region 6 and head to 2A Region 5. Burke drops from 2A altogether to head to 1A Region 6. Class 2A Region 6 is currently an 8-team conference, which is tied for the most programs in one region. Now, its member schools are Academic Magnet, Battery Creek, Bishop England, Burke, Garrett, North Charleston, Ridgeland and Woodland.

Under the new realignment, schools decrease to six. Whale Branch, currently in 1A Region 5, bumps up to 2A Region 6. Runey said the decrease allows an opportunity to replace that former extra region game with a non-region match. The Battling Bishops, who are in the second year of a football home-and-home with 4A Region 7 West Ashley, could schedule another local 4A game, for example, to generate large ticket revenue that a game against Ridgeland couldn’t generate.

“We have been in a 7-team (opponents) region, so going back to six allows us some more outside games,” Runey said. “This could allow us to get some bigger gates and rivalries. Whale Branch moved up to 2A and are located within a few miles of Battery Creek, so that was a natural fit. It should be a pretty solid region.”

In Mount Pleasant, Wando athletic director Bob Hayes is also pleased with the new realignment. The Warriors share 4A Region 7 with Cane Bay, Goose Creek, Stratford and West Ashley under current rules. The only change next season will be the addition of James Island, which is currently in 3A Region 8.

“Having James Island back in 4A is a good thing,” Hayes said. “They are a CCSD school and when they were in 4A in the past, it was a good rivalry. We also like the fact we will be back to six-team region. This is better for scheduling and it opens a fourth playoff spot in most sports.”

Class 1A

Region 1: Calhoun Falls, Dixie, Fox Creek, McCormick, Ridge Spring-Monetta (football only), Ware Shoals (except football), Whitmire (except football)

Region 2: Brashier Middle College, Christ Church, Greenville Charter, Greer Middle College, S.C.S.D.B., Southside Christian, St. Joseph’s, Tamassee-Salem, Ware Shoals (football only), Whitmire (football only)

Region 3: C A Johnson, Governors School Math & Science, Great Falls, Lamar, Lewisville, McBee

Region 4: Blackville-Hilda, Calhoun County, Hunter-Kinard-Tyler, Ridge Spring-Monetta (football only), North, Wagener-Salley, Williston-Elko

Region 5: Allendale-Fairfax, Bamberg-Ehrhardt , Bethune-Bowman , Branchville, Denmark-Olar, Estill

Region 6: Baptist Hill, Burke, Charleston Charter School for Math and Science, Cross, Lincoln, Military Magnet, St. John’s

Region 7: C E Murray, East Clarendon, Hannah-Pamplico, Scott’s Branch, Timmonsville

Region 8: Carvers Bay, Creek Bridge, Green Sea-Floyds, Hemingway, Lake View, Latta

Class 2A

Region 1: Blacksburg, Carolina, Chesnee, Landrum, Liberty, Pendleton, Powdersville, Woodruff

Region 2: Abbeville, Batesburg-Leesville, Crescent, Ninety Six, Saluda, Strom Thurmond

Region 3: Columbia, Eau Claire, Fairfield Central, Keenan, Mid-Carolina, Newberry, Pelion Region 4: Andrew Jackson, Buford, Central, Cheraw, Chesterfield, Indian Land, North Central

Region 5: Barnwell, Edisto, Ridgeland, Silver Bluff, Wade Hampton, Woodland

Region 6: Academic Magnet, Battery Creek, Bishop England, Garrett, North Charleston, Whale Branch

Region 7: Andrews, Johnsonville, Kingstree, Lake Marion, Lee Central, Timberland

Region 8: Aynor, Dillon, Loris, Marion, Mullins, Waccamaw

Class 3A

Region 1: Belton-Honea Path, Daniel, Palmetto, Pickens, Seneca, Walhalla, West-Oak, Wren

Region 2: Berea, Blue Ridge, Chapman, Eastside, Emerald, Greer, Southside, Travelers Rest

Region 3: Broome, Chester, Clinton, Lancaster, South Pointe, Union County

Region 4: AC Flora, Camden, Chapin, Dreher, Lower Richland, Richland Northeast

Region 5: Aiken, Airport, Brookland-Cayce, Gilbert, Midland Valley, Swansea

Region 6: Crestwood, Darlington, Hartsville, Lakewood, Manning, Marlboro County

Region 7: Georgetown, Lake City, Myrtle Beach, North Myrtle Beach, St. James, Wilson

Region 8: Beaufort, Berkeley, Hanahan, Hilton Head Island, Orangeburg-Wilkinson, Stall

Class 4A

Region 1: Easley, Greenville, Greenwood, Hillcrest, Laurens, TL Hanna, Westside, Woodmont

Region 2: Boiling Springs, Byrnes, Dorman, JL Mann, Mauldin, Riverside, Spartanburg, Wade Hampton

Region 3: Clover, Fort Mill, Gaffney, Nation Ford, Northwestern, Rock Hill, York

Region 4: Blythewood, Dutch Fork, Lugoff-Elgin, Ridge View, Spring Valley, Westwood

Region 5: Irmo, Lexington, North Augusta, River Bluff, South Aiken, White Knoll

Region 6: Carolina Forest, Conway, Socastee, South Florence, Sumter, West Florence

Region 7: Cane Bay, Goose Creek, James Island, Stratford, Wando, West Ashley

Region 8: Ashley Ridge, Bluffton, Colleton County, Fort Dorchester, Summerville

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.