Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame to induct three new members on Aug. 9

  • Thursday, August 8, 2013

Summerville’s Steven Jackson, Bishop England’s Drew Meyer and Hanahan’s Britt Reames have been voted by local fans to create the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013.

Formal induction into the Hall of Fame will take place on the field of Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park on Friday, Aug. 9, prior to the Charleston RiverDogs – Rome Braves game that begins at 7:05 p.m.

After pitching for Summerville High, Jackson played at Clemson for four seasons (2001-04) despite being drafted by the Tampa Bay Rays in the 38th round of the 2000 MLB Draft. He was also drafted after his junior season with the Tigers by the Cleveland Indians in the 32nd round but remained in school. In his four years as a Tiger, Jackson put together a record of 19-8. His professional career began in the Arizona Diamondbacks’ system after he was a 10th round pick by them in 2004. Jackson spent three seasons in their minor league program before being traded to the New York Yankees in January 2007 as part of the Randy Johnson trade. In 2009, Jackson was called up to the majors for the first time by the Yankees but never got into a game. He was then designated for assignment by the club and was selected off waivers by the Pittsburgh Pirates where he made his major league debut on June 1 against the New York Mets. Jackson would spend the next year and a half going between Pittsburgh and AAA Indianapolis. He began the 2011 season in the Los Angeles Dodgers’ organization before signing with the Cincinnati Reds and finally being traded back to the Pirates. During his time in the majors, Jackson pitched 54.1 innings that encompassed 51 appearances with a 2-4 record and a 4.31 ERA.

Meyer, a Bishop England High graduate, was a 2002 All-American at South Carolina and was the first-round pick in the 2002 Draft by the Texas Rangers. He played three seasons at South Carolina (2000-02) before beginning a nine-year career in professional baseball highlighted by a stint in 2006 with the Texas Rangers. The 2000 and ‘02 teams at South Carolina that Meyer played on won the Southeastern Conference Championship with the `02 squad reaching the College World Series and captured national runner-up honors. A shortstop, Meyer was a 2002 second-team All-American by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) and Collegiate Baseball as well as third-team All-American by Baseball America. He twice was named All-SEC including a first-team selection in 2002. Meyer played in 209 games during a three-year career and missed only one contest. He still holds single-season records at Carolina from 2002 for at bats (334), hits (120) and singles (86) as well as tied for the record in games played (75) with three others from the 2002 squad. He is the only player in USC history to start 75 games in a season.

A hard-throwing right-hander who finished his Citadel career with an 18-7 record and 2.03 ERA, Reames, a native of Hanahan, was second in school history with 296 career strikeouts, having established the mark for strikeouts in a season (135 in ‘94) and game (18 vs. Marshall in ‘95 during the SoCon Tournament). A two-time All-Southern Conference performer (first team in ‘95; second team in ‘94), Reames in ‘94 had the league’s best ERA (2.16) and in ‘95 was tops in the conference in strikeouts per 9 innings (11.3). He played on two SoCon Tournament championship teams and was drafted in the 17th round by the St. Louis Cardinals and in 2000 pitched for them in the NLDS against Atlanta and the NLCS against New York. He played six years in the majors for the Cardinals, Montreal Expos, Oakland Athletics and Pittsburgh Pirates, and was inducted in The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame in 2008.

Last year’s class included Gettys Glaze, Tom Hatley and John Rhodes while the 2011 group was comprised of Bill Ackerman, Roberto Alomar and Mike Kimbrell. The 2010 Class included Lee Glaze, Fred Jordan, D.K. Walters and Kenny Wilkinson while the 2009 group included John Dodds, Jr., W.S. “Bull” Durham, Donald Morillo and Doug Pounder.

The Class of 2008 featured Richard Wieters, Danny Jones, Charlie Smith and Bryce Florie while the Class of 2007 included the 1955 Cannon Street YMCA team and The Citadel’s 1990 College World Series team, Anthony Jenkins and Modie Risher. Ty Cline, Mike Cook, Gary McJunkin and Coach Chal Port comprised the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2006. It marked the first time that amateurs and teams were considered for induction.

In the Hall of Fame’s inaugural year in 2003, James Island’s Gorman Thomas and Holly Hill’s Willie Randolph were enshrined as the first members. David Cone was inducted in 2004 and John Candelaria received the nod in 2005.


Notice about comments:

Moultrie News is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not Moultrie News.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

On Vacation

On Vacation – Palm Beach

Wednesday, March 18, 1:49 p.m.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads
Latest Videos

Moultrie News

© 2015 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.