The Art Institute of Charleston celebrates newest graduates

  • Thursday, August 15, 2013

The Art Institute of Charleston, a branch of The Art Institute of Atlanta, celebrated its newest graduates on Saturday, June 15.

Keynote speaker was Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design graduating student Rebecca Freeman.

At the graduation ceremony, The Art Institute of Charleston presented the Academic Excellence Award to Lara Karam, who graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interior Design degree.

She was the winner of the prestigious 2013 Otto Zenke ASID Student Competition, edging out more than 60 entrants from North and South Carolina.

Her design for the 20,000-square-foot Urban Boutique Hotel features sustainable design, ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) and building code compliance and eco-friendly lighting design - as well as furniture and finish selections.

Mercer University

Mercer University named Kaydren Orcutt, of Mount Pleasant, one of nine Stamps Leadership Scholars as part of the university’s participation in the prestigious Stamps Scholars Program.

The program is funded by the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation.

The nine recipients were chosen from more than 300 applicants based on their leadership, scholarship, service and innovation.

Orcutt was responsible for creating the first girl’s high school rugby team in South Carolina’s history and was a member of the team at Academic Magnet High School.

She was vice president of the Junior Intermezzo Club and plans to major in chemistry at Mercer.

The scholarship covers the full cost of attendance, including tuition, fees, room, board and books.

In addition, Stamps Leadership Scholars will each receive an iPad and $4,000 enrichment stipend to support activities such as study abroad, undergraduate research, unpaid internships and conference fees.

With the addition of the second class of Stamps Scholars, 14 scholars will be on Mercer’s campus next fall.

Boston University

Four Mount Pleasant residents have recently been named to the Dean’s List at Boston University for the spring semester.

Students recognized for this honor include: Giselle Blanco-Santana, Abigail E.. Clauhs, Charlotte W. Mooney and Rajagopal T. Srinivas.

Each school and college at Boston University has their own criterion for the Dean’s List, but students generally must attain a 3.5 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale), or be in the top 30 percent of their class, as well as a full course load as a full time student.


The College of Charleston held graduation on May 11. Many students from the Charleston area earned Bachelor’s degrees from the college in a ceremony in the historic Cistern Yard.

Anne Baker and Alexis Bruning from Awendaw graduated. Caroline Assey of Daniel Island, a communication major, graduated from the College of Charleston on May 11.

She is a graduated of Bishop England High School and the daughter of Dr. C. Timothy Assey, DMD and Dianne Assey of Mount Pleasant.

Benjamin Davis, Sara Dungo, Jordan Fogarty, Alyssa Harville, Erica Juras, Josh Richmond, Frances Wolf, William Worthy, Matthew Zutel, all of Isle of Palms ,also graduated from the College of Charleston.

Graduates from Mount Pleasant included Daniel Allen, Robert Arthur, Katelyn Barry, Francis Berger, Francis Berger, Caitlin Bettendorf, Victoria Boneberg, Hannah Booth, Nicole Camy, Ali Charen, Michael Chute, Pauline Clover, Isabel Cochran, Madelaine Cochran, Erika Collins, AnneLouise Cotterill, Hollen Dodds, Julian Drake, Victoria Druce, Christina DuBois, Nicholas Duranceau, Robert Fitz, Marco Gattoni-Celli, Caroline Graham, Sarah Green, Brandon Griffin, Harry Hallman, Christy Harrison, Hannah Herin, Matthew Hughes, Cassidy Hurt, Micah Jenkins, Jamie Johnson, James Julien, Daniel Lauder, Janie Lawson, Molly Lofton, Molly McCormack, Calley Moore, Joseph Nelson, Dana Norton, Michelle Ortega, Emmalee Owens, Kelly Parsons, Jonathan Peace, Lauren Pearson, Ross Poletti, John Raymond, Monica Reed, Alexander Rieflin, Cameron Sepulveda, Kelsy Shea, Alexandra Simmons, Erin Skinner, Lauren Smith, Erik Speer, Hannah Starke, Courtney Tuck, Devon Turner, Melinda Turner, Leah Twillman, Jessica Tyler, Gregory Ulbrich, Dylan Vories, Lauren Zerbst, Shea Connell, Jenny Bamond, Jessica Laskow, Jessica Meelan, Chelsea Michael, Maria Paullier, Brittney Tallent, Austin Acsell, Lea Armstrong, Hanna Attafi, Amanda Dolan, Anna Garrett, Nicole Glenn, Nicole Greig, Caroline Howard, Patrick Kelleher, Paige Landgrebe, Amanda Moore, Ryan Mullin, Lauren Ross, Beth Uhlig, Ryan Walker, Ryan Willoughby, Susan Wolfe and Jenna Wood.

Graduates from Sullivan’s Island included Elizabeth Collins, Zachariah Collins, Megan Currin, Tess Fortier, Grace Herlong, Katherine Poletti, Paul Runyon, Caroline Thorne and Matthew Verner.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.