Bus drivers celebrated for combined 620 years of safe driving

  • Friday, September 6, 2013

Employees for Veolia Transportation were recently recognized at a banquet hosted by Veolia, honoring their outstanding achievements. Seventy-nine bus operators received awards for safe driving and service.

Among the honorees were Cindy Mitchell and Cynthia Adams who each achieved one million miles of safe driving and Carl Gibbs who achieved two million miles of safe driving. In total the Charleston location has 18 employees who have earned one million miles or more. It takes 12 years of safe driving to achieve the one million milestone, which makes this a remarkable accomplishment.

One hundred and thirty-five guests attended the banquet including CARTA transit planner Jeff Burns who said of the event, “I was honored to attend the annual Safety and Service Banquet held to recognize the outstanding safety record of the Veolia bus operators. CARTA is proud of each operator for their individual and collective achievements.” Burns also recognized the maintenance team saying, “I would also like to thank the maintenance team that so ably represented Veolia-Charleston at the 2013 APTA International Bus Rodeo. Thank you again to everyone at Veolia-Charleston for your focus on safe operations and service to the community.”

Also in attendance from Veolia at the event were vice president of safety and security, Shelly Hall, regional vice president Tim Collins, vice president and deputy COO Yann Leriche, regional safety manager Ebbe Jensen and Charleston general manager Ginger Stevens. “It takes 28,900 miles to circle the earth one time, which means these operators have safely circled the earth nearly 35 times,” said Hall. “When you look at the achievements of these bus operators with this in mind, you instantly know how monumental this is for them and for the company.”

Several other employees were recognized during the evening for their outstanding service. They were: Gracie Wright, Fixed Route Employee of the Year, Andy Stevanus, Maintenance Employee of the Year, Kristen Carter, recipient of the General Manager Award, Dorthea Sumter, recipient of the Customer Service award and Toya Jefferson and Diane Pelligrini, recipients of the Shining Star Award.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.