Did you know?

  • Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Non-small cell lung cancer, or NSCLC, is the most common type of lung cancer, with about 85 to 90 percent of lung cancers falling into this category.

There are three main subtypes of NSCLC: squamous cell (epidermoid) carcinoma, adenocarcinoma and large cell (undifferentiated) carcinoma.

Roughly 25 to 30 percent of all lung cancers are squamous cell carcinomas, which start in the flat cells known as squamous cells that line the inside of the airways in the lung.

Usually found in the middle of the lungs, these squamous cells are typically linked to a history of smoking.

Adenocarcinomas account for approximately 40 percent of lung cancer diagnoses, and these start in the early versions of the cells that are normally responsible for secreting mucus.


Notice about comments:

Moultrie News is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not Moultrie News.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Latest Videos
On Vacation

On Vacation – Montreal

Monday, July 27, 6:26 a.m.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads

Moultrie News

© 2015 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.