Wando students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

  • Saturday, November 2, 2013

Wando National Merit Scholarship semifinalists are (front row, from left) Rachel Nuzum, Anna Blyth, Sydney Cowert, Dylan Thorp, (second row, from left) Samuel Crain, Andrew Kilby, Garret Bell, Alexander Tuk and Alexander McArthur (Not pictured is Jessica Ikonomidis.)

Wando High School is proud to announce that 10 of their seniors are National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists for 2014 and nine seniors have achieved commended status.

The 10 semifinalists are among the academically talented high school seniors who will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 8,000 scholarships worth about $35 million to be offered next spring.

Semifinalists are determined by their score on the 2012 Preliminary SAT (PSAT). The nationwide pool represents less than one percent of U. S. High School Seniors and includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Besides maintaining an outstanding academic record in high school, each of Wando High School semifinalists is to be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm his or her earlier performance on the PSAT.

The commended students are among the top five percent in the national testing pool for the 2012 PSAT. The commended students are: Danielle Cox, Anna Crawford, Regan Dougherty, Katherine Frain, Josiah Hulsey, David McElveen, Olivia Newman, Kishan Patel and Sarah Russell.

The semifinalists are Rachel Nuzum, Anna Blyth, Sydney Cowert, Dylan Thorp, Samuel Crain, Andrew Kilby, Garret Bell, Alexander Tuk, Jessica Ikonomidis and Alexander McArthur.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.