North-South rosters announced

  • Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Wando’s Trevor Pederson was named to the roster of the South team for Dec. 14’s North-South All-Star football game. PHOTO PROVIDED

A select group of South Carolina’s top football players will participate in the 2013 Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl. Eighty-eight athletes will represent their schools Dec. 14 in Myrtle Beach for the 66th annual all-star game. The players divide equally into two groups - 44 players comprise the respective North and South squads.

Trevor Pederson, a wide reciever from Wando High School was named to the South’s roster. Wando head coach Jimmy Noonan is one of the assistant coaches for the South’s team.

“We have an outstanding collection of student-athletes this year,” said Keith Richardson, co-director of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl. “We have a lot of talented football players on these two rosters. And just as vital, so many of these young men have displayed exceptional character off the field as well.”

There were more than 300 nominations forwarded to the all-star selection committee. The list narrowed to a final roster of 88 athletes on Oct. 28 in Columbia.

“One of our top priorities in the selection process is ensuring every region of South Carolina is represented in this game,” said Shell Dula, executive director of the South Carolina Athletics Coaches Association. “We’ve always maintained the philosophy that this event represents the entire state, and I believe the diverse group of players who were selected reflects that goal.”

On Sunday, Dec. 8, all 88 players report to Myrtle Beach. Twice daily practices for each team begin the following morning and continue through Friday afternoon.

“It’s a busy week for the coaches and players,” says Richardson. “But we strive to make this a memorable event for the athletes. This is their opportunity to showcase their skills and gain recognition for their hard work and dedication.”

“We know how important football is to so many of the communities we serve,” said Mike Couick, president and CEO of The Electric Cooperatives of South Carolina. “We’re honored to have the opportunity to recognize all the outstanding young men participating in this year’s game.”

The 2013 Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl takes place at Doug Shaw Memorial Stadium in North Myrtle Beach on Dec. 14 at noon.

Fans unable to attend can watch the game streamed live at www.htc.com (A production of Horry Telephone Cooperative).

A live radio broadcast of the game can be heard on many affiliates of the South Carolina Radio Network.

Advance tickets for the game can be purchased online for $15 online: https://touchstonebowlgame.eventbrite.com

Tickets will be available at the gate on game day for $20.

Created by the South Carolina Athletics Coaches Association in 1947, the all-star game is in its 66th consecutive year.

During halftime of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl, the five finalists for South Carolina’s Mr. Football award will be recognized. The 2013 recipient will be announced at that time.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.