Wahlig earns honors at Western Wyoming

  • Sunday, November 17, 2013

Western Wyoming Community College has released its spring 2013 President’s Honor Roll list and Franziska Wahlig of Mount Pleasant was named to the President’s Honor Roll.

This honor is accorded to full-time students who complete a minimum of 12 credit hours with a letter grade and a grade point average of 4.0. Western congratulates these students on their academic achievements.

Wofford College

Ninety percent of Wofford College’s enrolled students receive approximately $45 million in scholarships, grants and loans each year. Each of the endowed scholarship funds requires that recipients demonstrate outstanding character, academic achievement, and potential for contribution to society; some have additional requirements for eligibility. Area students who have been awarded scholarships are:

Jonathan Rice of Mount Pleasant has been awarded a Benjamin Wofford Scholarship. He is a son of Joe and Catherine Rice.

Anne McDermott of Mount Pleasant has been awarded a Benjamin Wofford Scholarship. She is a daughter of Paul and Diane McDermott.

The Benjamin Wofford Scholarships are named in memory of the founder of the college. These scholarships are awarded annually to students nominated by their high schools and selected by Wofford College as possessing outstanding qualities of scholarship.

University of Vermont

Keith W. Jackson of Mount Pleasant has been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester at the University of Vermont. Jackson is a junior Mathematics major in the College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences.

To be named to the dean’s lists, students must have a grade-point average of 3.0 or better and rank in the top 20 percent of their class in their respective college or school.

Georgia Tech

The Georgia Institute of Technology presented degrees to approximately 2,700 undergraduate and graduate students during the Institute’s 245th commencement exercises, including the following students:

Laura Lanier of Mount Pleasant - BS in Polymer and Fiber Engineering

Eric Powers of Mount Pleasant - BS in Chemical and Bio Engineering.

Ithaca College

Jessica Afrin, a resident of Mount Pleasant and a Television-Radio major in the class of 2016, was named to the Dean’s list in Ithaca College’s Roy H. Park School of Communications for the spring 2013 semester.

Virginia Tech

Rebekah C. Symthe of Mount Pleasant who is enrolled at Virginia Tech was named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2013 semester. Smyth is a senior majoring in human nutrition, foods and exercise in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. To qualify for the Dean’s List, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) during the semester.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.