MPTC runners compete at cross country nationals

  • Sunday, December 22, 2013

Mount Pleasant Track Club members Mark Richter (9-10) and Aidan Richter (11-12) were named individual Region Champions at the Region Meet, held Nov. 23 in Peachtree City, Ga. They are among a group of 44 runners from the club who headed to the Junior Olympic Nationals in San Antonio, Texas, to compete in the USATF Cross Country Nationals on Dec. 14. PHOTO PROVIDED

The Mount Pleasant Track Club headed to the Junior Olympic Nationals in San Antonio, Texas, to compete in the USATF Cross Country Nationals on Dec. 14. To qualify the team had to go through two qualifying rounds: State Meet and Region Meet. The State Meet was held on Nov. 16 at the North Charleston Wannamaker County Park, hosted by the MPTC. The MPTC had 140 athletes compete, winning every age group team competition including the 8 and under girls and boys, the 9-10 girls and boys, the 11-12 girls and boys, the 13-14 girls and boys and 15-16 boys. Individual State Champions from MPTC were Mark Richter (9-10), Kate Kuisel (11-12), Aidan Richter (11-12), Colin Baker (13-14) and AJ Gawryluk (17-18). The State Meet qualified the team for the Region Meet, held Nov. 23 in Peachtree City, Ga. The MPTC took 90 athletes to compete, qualifying 65 for the Nationals. They had two individual Region Champions: Mark Richter (9-10) and Aidan Richter (11-12).

Age group teams winning Region were:

8 and under Girls: Maggie McWhirt, Ginger Arnold, Ella McElveen, Tess Friedman, Allison Kammer, Cailyn Bennett, Lexi Green.

8 and under Boys: Tyson Smith, Heath Soho, Carson Walker, Luke Walmet, Clyde Mauldin, Alan Muthard, Aiden Ruggiero, London Kearney, Lucas DeArellano.

9-10 Boys: Mark Richter, Hadley Shaw, Marshall Hodges, Guy Johnson, Sriram Srinivas, Ryan Spychalski, Thomas Mathison, Spiro Fokas.

11-12 Girls: Kate Kuisel, Lily Heinold, Chloe Berda, Caitlin Casey, Kelley Sanders, Quinna Muthard, Drayton Nelson.

11-12 Boys: Aidan Richter, Ben McElveen, Andrew DeArellano, Luke Pauldine, Lyle Johnson, Dylan Still, Evan Daniels, Jett Goldberg.

Other age groups advancing (Top five teams) were:

9-10 Girls (fourth): Ally Dominiak, Piper Barnhart, Ellie Pence, Berklie Duffy, Brooke Baldwin, Jenna Griffin, Henley Duffy, Elizabeth Meis, Olivia Albano.

13-14 Girls (fourth): Rachel Walmet, Carly Hall, Lilly Houpe, Kendall Lamont, Martha Pickens, Megan Fleming.

13-14 Boys (second): Patrick Spychalski, Colin Baker, Collin Casey, Bradley Sanders, Greydan Green, David Hand, Palmer Haigler, Kyle Doss.

After 14 weeks of training, the 44 athletes from MPTC competed at the highest level, the JO Nationals in San Antonio, Texas. The MPTC athletes who competed were:

8 and under Girls: Ginger Arnold, Tess Friedman, Allison Kammer, Ella McElveen

8 and under Boys: Lucas DeArellano, Clyde Mauldin, Alan Muthard, Tyson Smith, Heath Soho, Luke Walmet

9-10 Girls: Piper Barnhart, Ellie Pence

9-10 Boys: Luka Albarran, Marshall Hodges, Guy Johnson, Mark Richter, Hadley Shaw, Sriram Srinivas

11-12 Girls: Chloe Berda, Caitlin Casey, Lily Heinold, Kate Kuisel, Caroline Mathison, Quinna Muthard, Drayton Nelson, Kelley Sanders

11-12 Boys: Evan Daniels, Andrew DeArellano, Lyle Johnson, Ben McElveen, Luke Pauldine, Aidan Richter

13-14 Girls: Carly Hall, Rachel Walmet

13-14 Boys: Colin Baker, Collin Casey, Kyle Doss, Greydan Green, David Hand, Bradley Sanders, Patrick Spychalski

15-16 Boys: Keegan Green

17-18 Boys: Trace Hall, AJ Gawryluk

Before heading to National, MPTC head coach Tami Dennis said, “We expect to do very well in several of the age groups, especially 8 and under Boys, 9-10 boys, 11-12 boys and 11-12 girls. Each of those teams did very well at Regions and could vie for All-American.” To be an All-American, you must be the Top 25 individually or the Top three teams in the nation.

This year will field the largest number of runners, with more than 3,500 kids competing in all age groups. “We have a few individuals who could compete for the All-American status. They are Tyson Smith and Heath Soho (8 and under), Aidan Richter (9-10) Aidan Richter and Ben McElveen (11-12) and AJ Gawryluk (17-18),” added Dennis.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.