Four area players named SCBCA All-State

  • Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Wando forward Jamez Rogers was one of four East Cooper players named to this season's SCBCA All-State polls. FRANKIE MANSFIELD

Jamez Rogers, B.J. Grevey, Michele Boykin and Mary Harriet Moore each appear on the 2013-14 South Carolina Basketball Coaches Association All-State teams, released Monday.

The SCBCA all-state teams are divided by S.C. High School League's four classifications. Each player is selected by coaches' votes.

Rogers, a 6-foot-4 sophomore forward, has helped guide Wando to a Region VII title and into the third round of the Class 4A playoffs, averaging 16 points, five rebounds and four assists per game.

In his junior season, Grevey led Bishop England to region wins over the likes of Burke, Garrett and Academic Magnet while averaging 16 points, six rebounds and two steals per game.

Boykin and Moore have both turned in big years in their senior season to lead the Bishop England girls into the third round of the Class 2A playoffs. The Lady Bishops have just one loss on the season — from the opening round of a holiday tournament — and haven't won a game by less than 11 points all season.

Boykin is averaging 18 points, four rebounds, four assists and five steals per game, while shooting 62 percent from inside the three-point arc. Moore is scoring 15 points per game, along with eight rebounds, two assists, three steals and 2.4 blocks.

SCBCA All-State


Class 4A

L.J. Peak – Gaffney – Player of the Year

Jameel Taylor – Hanna

Tyreece Brice – South Pointe

Jevante Gross – Irmo

Emarius Logan – White Knoll

Erick White – Sumter

Demetre Rivers – Stratford

D.J. Dobson – Bluffton

John Jenkins – Summerville

Dantez Bennamon – Goose Creek

Chandler Harrison – North Augusta

Javis Howard – Irmo

J.J. Arcega-Whiteside – Dorman

Anthony Johnson – South Pointe

Jamez Rogers – Wando

Randall Shaw – Hillcrest

Class 2A

Deion Holmes – Chesnee – Player of the Year

Marcus Stroman – Keenan

Keith Workman – Fairfield Central

Tyre Moore – Academic Magnet

Deriante Jenkins – Lake Marion

Maurice Howard – Saluda

Zach Parker – Mid-Carolina

Montell James – Edisto

Rocquan Frederick – Calhoun County

Terrance Frazier – Ridge-Hardeeville

Anthony Adger – Crescent

Alex Brown – Mullins

Darnell Rogers – Indian Land

Dyshane Murphy – Kingstree

B.J. Grevey – Bishop England

Bennett Wilson – Newberry


Class 2A

Michele Boykin – Bishop England

Mary Harriet Moore – Bishop England

Tyshanna Lester – Dillon

Cady Cole – Pendleton

Arnasia Boyd – Newberry

Dareisha Sowell – Andrew Jackson

Shaunice Fulmore – Lake City

Malia Rivers – Central

Daquasha Williams – Ninety Six

Alexis Foulks – Columbia

Jaleah Lasane – Mullins

Brittani McDonald - Mullins

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.