Charleston Symphony performs Stravinsky's ‘Firebird'

  • Thursday, March 6, 2014

The Charleston Symphony Orchestra (CSO) will present three performances for the Masterworks Series with a program including Stravinsky’s “The Firebird Suite,” Elgar’s “Cello Concerto,” (Richard) Strauss’ “Death and Transfiguration” and Vaughan Williams “Dives and Lazarus” on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, March 13 - 15 at 7:30 p.m. at Sottile Theatre, 44 George St., in Charleston, S.C. Tickets for the evening performances start at $25 for adults. Tickets may be purchased through the CSO website or by calling 843-723-7528, ext. 110.

The concerts will be conducted by CSO Music Director candidate, Ken Lam, the winner of the 2011 Memphis International Conducting Competition, Resident Conductor of the Brevard Music Center in North Carolina, Education Conductor of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Baltimore Symphony Youth Orchestras and Associate Professor and Director of Orchestra at Montclair State University in New Jersey.

“At first glance, a program containing works by two English composers, one Russian and one German may seem like a disparate collection,” said Lam. “However, these four composers are dealing with the legacy of late-Romanticism in their own unique way. While each of these composers hails from a different musical tradition, they all express an extreme range of emotions through gorgeous melodic writing, rich harmonies and lush orchestration.”

Ukrainian-born, Charleston resident, Natalia Khoma will perform Elgar’s noble and beautiful “Cello Concerto.” The New York Concert Review reported, “Khoma plays with masterful authority. Her bow arm is natural, relaxed and fluid, her left hand technique effortless and utterly secure. Her tone is dark, focused and pure. The playing was perfectly controlled and beautifully expressive.”

“We are fortunate to have such exceptional talent here in Charleston and are thrilled to feature Natalia Khoma,” said CSO Executive Director, Michael Smith. “We can’t wait for the CSO to transport the audience into the mystical and intoxicating world of Igor Stravinsky’s “Firebird.” It’s a magical ride, ending in triumph, that’s like reading a book you wished would never end, sure to leave you with goose bumps.”

“It’s very exciting to perform this beautiful repertoire but especially to perform Richard Strauss’ tone poem “Death and Transfiguration,’” said concertmaster and CSO Acting Artistic Director, Yuriy Bekker. “Strauss’ music is very powerful and very recognizable. We chose to highlight his work to celebrate the 150th anniversary of his birth.”


Notice about comments:

Moultrie News is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not Moultrie News.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

On Vacation

On Vacation – Iguazu Falls

Wednesday, April 1, 3:29 p.m.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads
Latest Videos

Moultrie News

© 2015 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.