School News

  • Monday, May 19, 2014

The following local residents recently were initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

Melissa Niswonger of Isle of Palms (29451) initiated at College of Charleston

Carter Rhea of Mount Pleasant (29464) initiated at College of Charleston

Nathan Birkemeyer of Mount Pleasant (29464) initiated at College of Charleston

Casey Rutherford of Mount Pleasant (29464) initiated at College of Charleston

Jonathan Lamkin of Mount Pleasant (29464) initiated at College of Charleston

Hamza Khan of Mount Pleasant (29466) initiated at College of Charleston

Elizabeth Works of Mount Pleasant (29466) initiated at College of Charleston

Kelsey Yetsko of Mount Pleasant (29466) initiated at College of Charleston

Elizabeth Kelley of Daniel Island (29492) initiated at College of Charleston

These residents are among approximately 32,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is also pleased to announce that Vincent Sonson II of Sullivans Island, South Carolina, was recently initiated into Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Sonson was initiated at Iowa State University.

Mount Pleasant Academy

Principal's Honor Roll: 3rd quarter

Dunn Andrews, Annie Cagle, Wilson Collins, Gus Debnam, Grayson Gregg, James Kammerer, Olivia Keen, Finlay Palmer, Corbett Smith, Baker Story, Carter Griffin, Carson Batten, Lukas Bernard, Elizabeth Folline, Mary Larkin Hegler, Cassidy Rager, Casen Shoemake, Hayes Averill, Baze Duckworth, Ella Hewitt, Pope Kennedy, Lilly Harrell, Henry Humphreys, Katie Borden, Thomas Buxton, Mac Hassell, Hayley Hylton, Anne Wilson Varnado, McRae Wallace, Austin Walton, Hugh Werber, Sophie deBrux, Hayes Martini, Amelia Norcott, Cecilia Ollis, Lauren Peagler, Perrin Popovich, Spivey Woodward, Brooke Bennett, Caroline Collins, William Abel, Sam Boyd, Nick Cladakis, Anson Clark, Ruby Hansen, Emmy Lee, Emma Nodine, Cypress Santos, Justin Story, Ella Drew Dodd, Bennett Blanchard, Hope Staubes, Wiley Tschantz, Grier Abercrombie, Austin Gallman, Harmon Kerrison, Julia McKellar, Edward Orr, Benjamin Stevens, Ellisann Thomas, John Thomason, Keller Wachsmuth, Jack Lipscomb, Livvie Caldwell, Whitney Knotts, Hannah Korson, Susannah Manucy, Graham McAlister, Ally Monts, Ellie Rogers, Nicholas Apostolou, Wils Browning, Hank Tschantz, Estella Walsh, Crawford White, Maggie McKay, Delaney Winn, Cille Hassell, Mary Katherine Kerrigan, Kayla Kirkland, Kyleigh Lesesne, Holland Nelson, Margo Smith, Sriram Srinivas, Adam Swanson, Davis Varnado, Lucy Richmond, Olivia Horne, Grace Kammerer, Disha Qanungo, Sawyer Shoemake, Marshall Hodges, Jessica Palmer

Honor Roll: 3rd quarter

Catherine Everton, Olivia Nielsen, William Voelkel, Avery Voelkel, Hannah Bilbro, Darrin Blankenship, Harrison Carter, Isabella Flynn, Madison Jent, Stella Moore, Anna Dawson, Abbey McElveen, Irene Liu, Thomas Middleton, SarahAnne Horne, Joseph Wenger, Josie Bendell, Addyson Fisher, Wilson Garner, Ella Heggie, Maggie James, Marcus Lewis, Tommy Bryant, Virginia Buxton, Cleary Chance, Claire Crawford, Will Crimmins, Brennen Evans, Hampden Geer, Will Houlihan, Halsey Harrison, Caleb Keane, Sidd Pelluru, Whit Tiller, Blake West, Benjamin Nodine, Mary Simons, Ella Grace Jordan, Clinton Larrabee, Ellie Middleton, Brendan Pastor, Mason Austin, Rowan Dickens, Amelia Dietrich, Sharriah Green, John Hutto, Mary Lillian Leigh, Summer Padgett, Charleston Rougny, Olivia Dennis, Henry Brown, Henry McMillan, Cora Ray, Maryn Austin, Jack Ladd, Bryson Miller, Jacob Pitassi, Mark Richter, Will Brown, Holden Moore, Charlie Rohaley, Jackson Bilbro, Henry Howell, Amy Paden, Alex Vranich, Grayson Ammons, Sara Crawford, Katie King, Ryan McInerney, Rush David Dixon, Jack Huber, Marco Jimenez, Leland McConnell, Charlotte Smith, Bella Tuk, Timothy Washington, Rory Buckhannon, Jenna Jenkins, Owen Wilkes

The University of South Carolina School of Law

Molly Stanton, of Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, has been elected the newest president of the Student Bar Association at Carolina Law. She follows two fellow Wando High School graduates in this position. Lonnie Doles and George Jenkinson were past presidents of the Student Bar and Stanton keeps this tradition alive.

Stanton is a second-year law student at the University of South Carolina's School of Law. Stanton was also awarded the John R. Holland Scholarship Award on May 8 at the Law School Awards Day. She is also a member of the Moot Court Bar, Student Ambassadors, Phi Delta Phi Honor Society and the Pickney Chapter of Phi Alpha Delta.

A 2008 graduate of Wando High School, Stanton earned a Bachelor's degreee in Business from the Darla Moore School of Business in May 2012, graduating Magna Cum Laude. Stanton also earned the Emerging Leader Award from the Darla Moore School of Business in 2011 and was a top five finalist for USC Homecoming Queen in 2011.

Stanton is the daughter of Kelly and Jim Stanton of Mount Pleasant, South Carolina.

SUNY Maritime College

Michael H. Kratz recently graduated with his Master's of Science in International Transportation Management from the State University of New York (SUNY) Maritime College. He is a native of Mount Pleasant, South Carolina.

The oldest and largest maritime school in the country, SUNY Maritime College is a four-year college located at historic Fort Schuyler in Throggs Neck, New York.


Notice about comments:

Moultrie News is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not Moultrie News.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Latest Videos
On Vacation

On Vacation – Montreal

Monday, July 27, 6:26 a.m.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads

Moultrie News

© 2015 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.