Mount Pleasant teams headed to state tourney

  • Monday, July 7, 2014

Four MPRD baseball teams are headed to the Cal Ripken State Tournament beginning July 10 in Aiken. PROVIDED


Four Mount Pleasant youth baseball teams won district championships last week to advance to the South Carolina Cal Ripken State Tournament beginning Thursday in Aiken.

The four youth teams combined for a perfect 13-0 run through their district brackets to earn their bids to represent Mount Pleasant against the best in the state in the four-day tournament at Citizens Park.

The 9U all-stars defeated Goose Creek before beating West Ashley twice, including an 11-1 win in the district title game.

The 10U all-stars won games over Daniel Island, Peninsula and James Island and then won district with a 13-3 win over James Island in the championship game.

After a first-round bye, the 11U all-stars topped West Ashley twice, 3-1 in the title game, to win district.

The 12U all-stars defeated West Ashley and Daniel Island before downing Goose Creek 13-3 for the district championship.

The 9U all-stars include: (pictured front, from left) Griffin “Tubbs” Tubbiolo, Wiley Tshantz, Rhett Brooks, Michael Bronco, Jake Freudenheim, Rowan Irelan, (middle, left to right) Andrew Bowers, Dylan Baker, Cameron Sebuck, Charlie McRanney, Jacob Johnson, Matthew Slesinski, Tagger Tyson, (back, left to right) head coach Jeff Sebuck, assistant coaches Michael Bronco and Brett Baker.

The 10U all-stars include: (pictured back, from left) assistant coach Matthew Whitmer, Marshall Whitmer, Calder Garris, Blake Fallaw, head coach Brett Fallaw, John Bagwell, Whit Hobgood, Ben Bullard, assistant coach Glenn Hill, (front, from left) Luke Farrell, William Hill, J.T. Walker, Rico Harrell, Shane Snyder and Michael John Petry.

The 11U all-stars include: (pictured back, from left) Andy Vanderveen, Sean Cradock, Rick Farrell, Chris Stockman, (middle, from left) Sullivan Vanderveen, Lachlon Headrick, JoJo Cradock, Reed Garris, Riley Farrell, Dylan Stockman, (front, from left) Michael Nastro, Tyler Steeland, Stephen Harrelson, Matthew Beitel, Tyler Fragola and Kaeden Taylor.

The 12U all-stars include: (pictured back, from left) Will Jordan, Jack Owens, coach Dave Shaw, Caleb Jackson, coach Fred Rodenwalt, Daniel Ravenel, Kyle Jarocki, coach Jason Asbill, (front, from left) Jarren McCoy, Jack Catalano, Henry Rhodes, Hayden Asbill, Logan McCoy, Gus Mounts, Will Pickren and Alex Shaw.

Frankie Mansfield, the sports reporter for the Moultrie News can be seen all around the state following teams to meets, games, and matches. For score updates, breaking sports news, and more, follow @fjmansfield on Twitter and like Moultrie News Sports on Facebook.


Notice about comments:

Berkeley Independent is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not Berkeley Independent.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads
Latest Videos

Moultrie News

© 2014 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.