S.C. legends to address state conference in Charleston

  • Thursday, August 7, 2014

Four of South Carolina's most successful natives will speak during the 20th anniversary Community Economic Development (CED) Conference Aug. 20-22 in Charleston. Lead by Congressman James E. Clyburn (SC-D), this groundbreaking celebration of the community economic development industry will take place at the Francis Marion Hotel in Charleston, South Carolina.

Other notable speakers include Dr. Henry N. Tisdale, eighth president of Claflin University, retired Brig. Gen. Walter F. Johnson, III – founder of Eagle Group International, a multi-million dollar contracting company – and world-renowned artist Jonathan Green. Along with these noted leaders, the board of directors and staff of the South Carolina Association of Community Development Corporations have assembled a diverse group of community development practitioners, bankers, regulators, investors, policy-makers, educators and community leaders to celebrate the progress that has been made in building wealth in poor communities all across South Carolina. The event will also unveil a new organization with tools and partners to expand prosperity into communities that continue to struggle economically.

“Community economic development organizations have had an economic impact of more than $200 million and created over 5,000 jobs in some of the state's poorest communities,” said Bernie Mazyck, president and CEO of the South Carolina Association of Community Development Corporations.

Persons interested in attending can register for the 20th anniversary Community Economic Development Conference by visiting www.communitydevelopmentsc.org, scrolling down to the section on the 2014 CED Conference and Gala, and clicking on the link provided.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.