BE's Havens voted into Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame

  • Thursday, August 7, 2014

Reese Havens has been selected to the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame. POST AND COURIER FILE

Former Bishop England star Reese Havens and former Citadel infielder Billy Swails Jr. highlight the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame class of 2014.

Havens and Swails were selected by fan voting and are joined by longtime umpire David Hoffman who was selected by the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Committee.

The trio will be formally inducted Aug. 15 prior to the Charleston RiverDogs-Rome Braves games at Joe Riley Park.

Havens hit .298 (215-for-721) with 27 homers and 140 RBIs in three years at the University of South Carolina. He earned third team All-America honors and second team All-Southeastern Conference recognition at shortstop his junior year while hitting .359 with 18 homers and 57 RBIs.

Havens was with the No. 22 overall pick in the 2008 MLB Draft by the New York Mets. He was added to the Mets' 40-man roster on Nov. 18, 2011, and retired from baseball on Jan. 22, 2014.

Swails is a Mount Pleasant native who was enshrined in The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame in 2003. He was a three-time member of the All-Southern Conference team as a second baseman and earned a spot as a member of the American Baseball Coaches Association All-America Team in 1989. He is a member of the class of 1989.

Hoffman began his umpiring career at Parks Field in Summerville in 1974 and coached Little League for two years before deciding to move to umpiring from 1974-2013. He's called more than 4,000 games in his career, including high school playoffs, state championships, Southern Conference and Big South tournaments, NCAA Division II Regionals and Division II World Series. He is the Hall of Fame's first umpire inductee.

The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame also includes:

2013 – Steven Jackson, Drew Meyer, Britt Reames

2012 – Gettys Glaze, Tom Hatley, John Rhodes

2011 – Bill Ackerman, Roberto Alomar, Mike Kimbrell

2010 – Lee Glaze, Fred Jordan, D.K. Walters, Kenny Wilkinson

2009 – John Dodds Jr., W.S. “Bull” Durham, Donald Morillo, Doug Pounder

2008 – Bryce Florie, Danny Jones, Charley Smith, Richard Wieters

2007 – 1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star Team, 1990 Citadel World Series Team, Anthony Jenkins, Modie Risher

2006 – Ty Cline, Mike Cook, Gary McJunkin, Chal Port

2005 – John Candelaria

2004 – David Cone

2003 – Willie Randolph, Gorman Thomas

Frankie Mansfield, the sports reporter for the Moultrie News can be seen all around the state following teams to meets, games, and matches. For score updates, breaking sports news, and more, follow @fjmansfield on Twitter and like Moultrie News Sports on Facebook.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.