Freedom of the Press Essay Contest winners announced

  • Wednesday, August 27, 2014



The Moultrie News is proud to announce the winners of this yearís Freedom of the Press Essay Contest sponsored by Larry Kobrovsky and the Moultrie News.

Taking home first place in the adult category is Tyler Corson. Tyler wins $250 and four tickets aboard the Bullís Island Ferry.

Second-place honors in the high school category go to Devyn White, a rising sophomore enrolled in the distance learning program at Mother of Divine Grace School. Devyn won $100. The first-place winner in the high school category is Preston Manning, a rising senior at Bishop England. Preston received a prize of $250.

The second-place winner of the middle school category is Erin Cullen of Moultrie Middle School, who received $50. First place in the middle school category goes to Ethan Guthrie, also of Moultrie Middle, who received $100.

Jody Stallings, a teacher at Moultrie Middle School had the most essays submitted from his classes. He was also awarded for participation.

Interesting to note this year is that Preston Manning is a second-time winner.

In addition, Tyler Corsonís son Roark won the middle school division last year.

The Moultrie News would like to thank all of this yearís contestants and congratulate the winners. The winning essays can be read online at www.moultrienews.com.

Latest Videos
On Vacation
News from Twitter

Moultrie News

© 2016 Moultrie News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.