The Berkeley County School District (BCSD) has announced its its 2017 Teachers of the Year. These educators will be considered for 2017 District Teacher of the Year.

Each year, teachers at BCSD schools nominate three educators to be considered for school-level Teacher of the Year. Each completes a statement of philosophy and a biography. The nominee receiving the most votes from colleagues is elected school Teacher of the Year and considered for District Teacher of the Year. These teachers will also serve on Berkeley County’s Teacher Forum to represent the interests of their schools and colleagues.

Teachers of the year

  • Berkeley Alternative School - Owen Brittle
  • Berkeley Middle College High - Sheila Amerson
  • Berkeley Elementary School - Gwendolyn Burbage
  • Berkeley High School - Stephanie Peagler
  • Berkeley Intermediate School - Hannah Cato
  • Berkeley Middle School - Kimberly Dunbar
  • Boulder Bluff Elementary School - Marilyn Edmonds
  • Cainhoy Elementary School - Heather Zack
  • Cane Bay Elementary School - Carrie Nichols
  • Cane Bay High School - Nicholas Snyder
  • Cane Bay Middle School - Tenise Williams
  • College Park Elementary School - Lesley Creel
  • College Park Middle School - Jamie West
  • Cross Elementary School - Breyona Canty
  • Cross High School - Chakita Spears
  • Daniel Island School - Patty Fisher
  • Devon Forest Elementary School - Dr. Shelley Matthews
  • Goose Creek High School - Emily L. Ridgley
  • Goose Creek Primary - Sandra Ulery
  • H.E. Bonner Elementary School - Kerstin Villeponteaux Gregory
  • Hanahan Elementary School - Kellie Tuberty
  • Hanahan High School - Elaine Phillips
  • Hanahan Middle School - Catherine Sullivan
  • Howe Hall AIMS - Beth Knight
  • J.K. Gourin Elementary School - Karen Nesmith
  • Macedonia Middle School - Stacy Joline
  • Marrington Elementary School - Jan Nutt
  • Marrington Middle School of the Arts - Laura S. Wiggins
  • Nexton Elementary School - Jennifer Rogers
  • Philip Simmons Elementary School - Doretha Garland
  • Philip Simmons Middle School - Dylan Hudson
  • Sangaree Elementary School - Morgan Warner
  • Sangaree Intermediate School - Christine Mims
  • Sangaree Middle School - Brenda Mackall
  • Sedgefield Intermediate School - Autumn Jernigan
  • Sedgefield Middle School - Courtenaye Johnson
  • St. Stephen Elementary School - Vera Gaillard
  • St. Stephen Middle School - Tanya M. Davis
  • Stratford High School - Jimmy Cate
  • Timberland High School - Meg Barrineau
  • Westview Elementary School - Kathy Killough
  • Westview Middle School - Shirl Szala
  • Westview Primary School - Valerie A. Rose
  • Whitesville Elementary School - Rebecca Bridge

The District Teacher of the Year selection process is as follows:

  • March 9 - Eight semi-finalists will be selected for District Teacher of the Year
  • March 24 - The top three finalists will be announced at the Teacher of the Year Induction Ceremony at Freedom Church
  • April 20 - All school-level Teachers of the Year as well, as the three district-level finalists, will be recognized at the Teacher of the Year Breakfast on April 20 at Trident Technical College

The District Teacher of the Year will be announced during the Teacher of the Year Breakfast, sponsored by the Berkeley Chamber of Commerce, Santee Cooper and Trident Technical College.

Jake Lucas is a staff reporter and copy editor.